At a glance

Numbered findings
14

Control and compliance issues in the report

Material weaknesses
1

The highest financial-reporting control category

Repeat findings
3

Issues reported in at least one earlier audit

Opinion scope
See report opinion

Opinion scope varies by report year and accounting basis

The opinion is not a pass/fail grade

Most regulatory statements received clean opinions—with an important exception.

Unmodified regulatory-basis opinion; qualified HOME, HOPWA, and CDBG compliance opinions; adverse GAAP-basis opinion.

Read the three opinion scopes
  • New Jersey regulatory basis: Unmodified.
  • U.S. GAAP: Adverse because the mandated regulatory basis differs from GAAP.
  • Fixed assets: None
Every numbered finding

What needs to change

“Material weakness” is an audit-control classification, not an allegation of fraud. Open a finding for the condition, why it matters, the auditor's recommendation, repeat history, and the City's separately labeled response.

2014-001 · noncompliance material to basic financial statements · Repeat since 2012

Aged unfunded capital costs

Unfinanced costs totaling $37,692,303 for capital projects over five years old remained on the City's books, including $27,790,616 for general and school projects and $9,901,687 for water projects.

Why it matters

The aged balances created cash-flow concerns and did not comply with State capital-funding requirements.

Auditor recommendation

Fund all Unfunded Deferred Charges to Future Taxation and Water Rents over five years old for which unfinanced costs have been paid.

Official report p. 313 · Includes a compliance issue

2014-002 · material weakness · Repeat since 2012

Grant, UEZ, and capital-account reconciliations

HUD grant balances were not reconciled to IDIS, UEZ balances were not reconciled to JCEDC, and capital-improvement and grant-reserve balances did not agree with subsidiary ledgers.

Why it matters

Grant and UEZ balances could not be validated, while unreconciled capital and grant reserves could be misstated or overexpended.

Auditor recommendation

Adopt closing procedures requiring reconciliation of HUD and UEZ grants, grant reserves, capital improvement authorizations, and other applicable accounts to underlying records and oversight-agency reports.

Questioned costs: None noted.

City response · unaudited

The City stated that Community Development would retain year-end IDIS reports, close temporary HUD grant accounts, and reconcile UEZ accounts with JCEDC.

Official report pp. 314–315, 318–319

2014-003 · significant deficiency · Repeat since 2013

Fixed-asset inventory and tracking

Twenty-two of 50 sampled assets could not be located, no disposals were recorded during the year, identifying information was incomplete, and departmental tagging, transfer, and disposal policies were not followed.

Why it matters

The inventory did not comply with N.J.A.C. 5:30-5.6 and could become materially misstated and unreliable.

Auditor recommendation

Make every asset traceable through tags or other identifiers and enforce existing disposal and transfer procedures.

Official report pp. 316–317 · Includes a compliance issue

2014-004 · compliance finding

Late HOPWA performance report

The HOPWA CAPER due July 1, 2014 was not submitted until January 22, 2015.

Why it matters

The City did not comply with HOPWA reporting requirements.

Auditor recommendation

Submit HOPWA CAPER reports within 90 days after program year end.

Questioned costs: None noted.

City response · unaudited

The City stated that it hired a HOPWA Grant Manager in January 2015, submitted the 2014–15 CAPER on time, and would ensure future timely submissions.

Official report pp. 319–320 · Includes a compliance issue

2014-005 · compliance finding

Missing Davis-Bacon semiannual report

The City had not filed HUD Form 4710 for the April 1 through September 30, 2014 semiannual period.

Why it matters

The City did not comply with HOME reporting requirements under the Davis-Bacon and Related Acts.

Auditor recommendation

Submit HOME semiannual Form HUD 4710 reports on time.

Questioned costs: None noted.

City response · unaudited

The City attributed the omission to a staff vacancy, stated that the vacancy had been filled, and reported that the form was being prepared for HUD.

Official report pp. 320–321 · Includes a compliance issue

2014-006 · compliance finding

Unrecorded and uncommitted HUD program income

The 2013 CDBG CAPER showed $29,927 of program income absent from IDIS, and $513,852 of 2012 HOME program income remained uncommitted in IDIS.

Why it matters

The City did not comply with 24 CFR §570.504.

Auditor recommendation

Record all program income correctly in IDIS and commit it before drawing additional entitlement funds.

Questioned costs: None noted.

City response · unaudited

The City reported reclassifying $513,852 as entitlement funds, allocating it in IDIS, expending $148,395.16 to date, and committing to record program income correctly.

Official report pp. 321–322 · Includes a compliance issue

2014-007 · compliance finding

Overdue HOME housing-quality inspections

Two HOME-assisted properties subject to annual housing-quality inspections had not been inspected during the audit year or by the 2015 testing date.

Why it matters

The City could not determine whether the units met HOME housing-quality standards.

Auditor recommendation

Perform all required annual HOME housing-quality inspections for applicable properties with 25 or more units.

Questioned costs: None noted.

City response · unaudited

The City stated that both projects were subsequently inspected and that Community Development updated its database to flag due inspections while evaluating monitoring software.

Official report pp. 322–323 · Includes a compliance issue

2014-008 · compliance finding

Incomplete first-time homebuyer eligibility review

One of four reviewed files omitted unemployment income and a bonus when determining first-time homebuyer eligibility, and the applicant appeared ineligible when all income was considered.

Why it matters

The City may have approved an ineligible applicant.

Auditor recommendation

Examine and consider every form of income required by 24 CFR §92.203 when determining program eligibility.

Questioned costs: None noted.

City response · unaudited

The City described the exception as an isolated oversight, required loan advisors to attend HUD training, and updated HOME policies and procedures.

Official report p. 324 · Includes a compliance issue

2014-009 · significant deficiency

HOME allowable-cost controls and HUD findings

HUD's disposition of four inspector-general findings and 41 recommendations identified unsupported, ineligible, excessive administrative, and unsecured HOME costs with potential City liability of $3,859,421, as well as reserve reductions and funds to be reobligated.

Why it matters

The City was liable to reimburse HOME for costs questioned by HUD.

Auditor recommendation

Strengthen and implement HOME controls as directed by HUD's Office of Inspector General and Newark Field Office.

Questioned costs: $515,834 under the agreement between the City and HUD.

City response · unaudited

The City stated that it was strengthening HOME controls and that it reimbursed the HOME program $515,834 in September 2015.

Official report pp. 325–326 · Includes a compliance issue

Comment 1 · control deficiency

Grant receipts posted to incorrect lines

Testing found grant receipts posted to incorrect grant lines.

Why it matters

The report does not state a separate effect.

Auditor recommendation

Post receipts to the correct grants and grant years and coordinate grant receipts between program departments and Accounts and Control.

Official report p. 333

Comment 2 · control deficiency

Dormant grant receivables and reserves

The grants fund carried $56,644,575 of receivables and $48,279,426 of appropriated reserves, including aged balances likely to be uncollectible or inactive, plus $368,984 of Local Law Enforcement Block Grant money.

Why it matters

The report does not state a separate effect.

Auditor recommendation

Investigate dormant receivable and reserve balances for collectability, posting to correct grant years, proper disposition, expenditure eligibility, or return to grantors.

Official report p. 333

Comment 3 · control deficiency

Unavailable payroll-deduction support

Testing of employee deductions and W-4 authorizations could not be completed because supporting documents were archived, stored, or otherwise unavailable.

Why it matters

The report does not state a separate effect.

Auditor recommendation

Permanently retain W-4 forms and employee-deduction support in personnel files.

Official report p. 334

Comment 4 · compliance finding

Purchases exceeding bid threshold

Two vendors were paid more than the bid threshold without public bidding or a documented Local Public Contracts Law exception.

Why it matters

The report does not state a separate effect.

Auditor recommendation

Monitor aggregate vendor payments and advertise publicly when expected payments reach bid thresholds.

Official report p. 334 · Includes a compliance issue

Comment 5 · compliance finding

Insufficient bid-advertisement period

One bid advertisement was published only seven days before bids were received rather than the ten days required by N.J.S.A. 40A:11-23.

Why it matters

The report does not state a separate effect.

Auditor recommendation

Publish bid advertisements in accordance with N.J.S.A. 40A:11-23.

Official report p. 334 · Includes a compliance issue

Historical audits

Choose a report year

CY is a calendar year, FY is the older June-ending fiscal year, and TY2010 is the transition period. Comparative CY2022 also represents CY2021.

Official PDF archive

Supporting source evidence, not the primary reading experience. Independent audits only; budgets and Annual Financial Statements are separate.

ReportYears coveredSource
CY2025 2025, 2024 Open official PDF
CY2024 2024, 2023 Open official PDF
CY2023 2023, 2022 Open official PDF
CY2022 2022, 2021
No separate CY2021 report was published; this comparative audit covers both 2022 and 2021.
Open official PDF
CY2020 2020, 2019 Open official PDF
CY2019 2019, 2018 Open official PDF
CY2018 2018, 2017 Open official PDF
CY2017 2017, 2016 Open official PDF
CY2016 2016, 2015 Open official PDF
CY2015 2015, 2014 Open official PDF
CY2014 2014, 2013 Open official PDF
CY2013 2013, 2012 Open official PDF
CY2012 2012, 2011 Open official PDF
CY2011 2011, 2010
This report covers CY2011 and the 2010 transition year.
Open official PDF
TY2010 2010
Transition-year report for the period ending December 31, 2010; it also compares the fiscal year ending June 30, 2010.
Open official PDF
FY2010 2010 Open official PDF
FY2009 2009 Open official PDF
FY2008 2008 Open official PDF
FY2007 2007 Open official PDF
FY2006 2006 Open official PDF

Project Solomon is independent of the City of Jersey City. Structured audit facts are manually source-checked; City management responses are unaudited.